And the AWARD goes to . . .

Awards CoverYesterday was my 41st birthday!! 

 

There are so many reasons why I shouldn’t have made it this far . . . a list too long to mention in a blog post, frankly.

And then, at the other extreme, are the myriad of reasons for me to have SURVIVED . . . and CONQUERED. I’ll take credit for a bit of it but the majority of credit needs to go to my my family, friends and others.

Being here, as in alive, today feels as momentus as the moment one receives an award. In keeping with that I’ve written my proverbial “Oscar-moment” speech as todays post.

Here goes . . . 

Family, friends, blog followers, curious on-lookers. I never assumed I’d reach 41. This is truly special to me. With all the close-calls and near-death moments I would be very arrogant to take this moment for granted. I am very thankful to be here.

I would like to take this moment to thank some of the people who have made 41 possible.

To every doctor who’s touched my life. Nephrologist, cardiologists, surgeons, family doctors. I thank you for dedicating your life to helping people. You’ve made a huge difference in my life.

To every nurse who’s held my hand during a painful procedure or talked me through a needle – I hate needles – thank you for your compassion. I’ve met too many of you through the years to remember every one but your impressions are forever ingrained in my soul.

I want to thank my friends, especially my core of besties, who have stood by me through some very trying moments. I thank you for speaking when I couldn’t. I thank you for loving me despite the strain I put on your hearts. 

I want to thank my family. Your love, expressed in calls, visits, notes, cards, Skype talks and emails have been the on-going small boosts that have fueled me. Thank you for being there for me.

Thank you all for the encouragement. For the love. For  . . . (orchestra music begins)

Okay. I appreciate you all.

(Hope I didn’t forget anyone. I apologize if I did.)

See you next year!!

This entry was posted in Musings, The Bigger Picture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

