Seek your Teachers . . .

Earlier this week I had a meeting with a staff member at Kingston General Hospital. This is one of the two hospitals that take care of me. It’s the hospital where I volunteer as a Patient Experience Advisor.

I decided to meet with a few key people on staff to share my message and goals with. KGH is the seed of this journey . . . why not share my plans with the people who enabled me to start this. By “this” I mean patient experience advising, public speaking, patient advocacy and my writing – as a compliment.

My goal in doing this is to let people know what I’m working toward and get feedback, ideas and maybe even some introductions to people relevant to my goals.

When I spoke to this staff member, who is so humble that I’ve never known her full title(s), I still know she’s a huge deal, I felt like I was in class. One of those meetings where someone is generous of mind and spirit.

I took notes.

She mentioned names and books and philosophies. Most pointedly, she mentioned “e-Patient Dave” (Dave deBronkart) and Jeff Ansell.

“e-Patient Dave” is an international keynote speaker, author and health policy advisor. Mr. deBronkart’s book is called. “Let Patient’s Help!” At KGH we’ve been lucky enough to have e-Patient Dave come and speak with us – have him in our midst.

Book-cover-final-3-20-13

Jeff Ansell is a communication and management consultant, who among things wrote a book called, “When the Headline is You”.

When The Headline Is You

In addition to directing me to these amazing people, she also stressed some points during the meeting:

1. The absolute importance of being message-centred or message-focused as I move forward. With that orientation I will be on the right track.

2. Approaching this journey with a collaborative mindset and a willingness to learn. She mentioned that Mr. deBronkart raved about how much he learned from visiting us at KGH. Even as a keynote speaker he didn’t come to us believing he had all the answers – he was open to learning from the experience.

As icing on the cake, she made an email introduction between myself and e-Patient Dave!! What an amazing opportunity . . . and a vote of confidence too.

This single meeting has been an amazing experience.

  • I’ve been set on the right track as far as my orientation to my larger goal.
  • I’ve been given some great references and tools to learn from.
  • I feel like I have an ally, in this staff member, who understands what I’m trying to achieve.
  • I’ve been introduced to someone, e-Patient Dave, who is living a life similar to what I’d hope to achieve for myself and who may share some insights with me.

One of the most important actions I see as being necessary, having had this meeting, is to consciously clarify my message. In my case I feel like I have a few messages – so I should aim to be clear on all of them.

Lesson learned in this . . .

Seek the counsel of people around you. There is so much you can learn just from the people in your midst. That meeting was amazing!

I think the tandem lesson is to be generous with what you know too.

Mentorship, or the counsel of teachers, doesn’t have to be a formal structured thing . . . sometimes mentorship can be just as profound in form of simple moments when we listen or when we share.

This entry was posted in Amazing People, The Bigger Picture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

