Touching and amazing honour . . .

Last night I was honoured by a local organization, the Afro-Caribe Community Foundation, at their annual dinner and dance.

It was a surprised to get the news from my Aunt (who is in the organization), that they wanted to  recognize the work I was doing in the community. 

I was really surprised and very touched.

So last night, in front of a crowd of over 100 people, I received a plaque.Image

My Aunt introduced me to the event attendees, with a speech that brought tears to my eyes. Then she invited my Dad to come to the stage to present me with the actual award.

Wow . . . 

My Aunt talked about how proud she is of me. And how proud the family is too. My Dad handed me the plaque with a big smile and later told me that he thought my acceptance speech was good. (High praise from him.)

I talked about Kingston General Hospital. And how this little volunteer role helped change my perception of my illnesses. How being a patient experience advisor and advocate turned my difficult health journey into something positive and constructive.

I have to say how special it was to be honoured for something that means so much to me.

Thanks!!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

