Fitness Progress Photos . . .

As much as I am set on putting myself out there publicly – as an advocate. I still am pretty shy.

I have to remember that my messages (and my example) have the potential to make life better for other people. In my case sharing my “sick to fit journey” may inspire a doctor to suggest active living for his or her patients. Or a fellow patient to want to work to incorporate fitness into their lives.

Image

Today, I am pushing past my shyness to share some photos documenting my fitness progress on my “sick to fit journey”.

Despite living with kidney failure, including doing dialysis, I am very fit and active.

I am physically active 4 to 8 times every week.

With my work schedule being extra busy these days, I am also incorporating free weights and yoga at home – when I’m not able to get to the gym. (I still get to the gym for 4 or 5 classes a week. Group classes are ideal for me staying motivated. I love my instructors and classmates.)

I am very proud of what I’ve accomplished fitness-wise.

What I can do and how far I have come. 

I remember starting out and feeling intimidated and nervous about the gym. 

And back in those days (a few years now) I would leave the gym feeling like I had my butt handed to me every time . . . 🙂 

Now I can handle everything I ask of myself physically in the classes. 

Now the gym is a second home to me.

Honestly, I am ready for more fitness challenge but I don’t want to push myself too hard until I get my kidney transplant. I want a little extra “reserve” on me for the operation and recovery time.

I am reminded of the advice of Dr. Trisha Parsons and Diana Hopkins-Rosseel . . . that in fitness a plateau is a good thing.

I am proud . . .

That I am fit despite my illnesses and health challenges.

That I reversed some of my health challenges with fitness (and dialysis).

That people are always surprised to find out I live with chronic illnesses.

That I am strong. 

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fitness Progress Photos . . .

  1. Vicky Laforge says:

    Awesome abs Karen. You look fantastic

  2. kns544 says:

    Thanks, Vicky. I’ve been working hard.

Leave a Reply

