Contributing to the Celebration of WORLD KIDNEY DAY!!!!

A few things to be thrilled about today . . .

1. It’s WORLD KIDNEY DAY!!! For me it’s an opportunity to reflect of the amazing progress that’s been made (and that is being made) to improve the lives of people living with kidney disease. Wonderful . . . I have benefited directly from this amazing work. I am sooooooo thankful.

2. My story was featured on a Canadian physiotherapy blog, written by none other than Dr. Trisha Parsons. I am so honoured and touched that she believes my message can change the way people think about the place of physiotherapy (and exercise) in the treatment of kidney disease.

Here is a link to the blog post:

http://shoptalk.physiotherapy.ca/rep-11-the-whole-is-greater-than-the-sum-of-its-parts/#more-558

Here is a link to a photo-documentary video I did with Dr. Parsons that discusses my Sick to Fit Journey:

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 12.15.03 PM

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qqud7ahmstnwvyd/Sick%20to%20Fit%20Journey%202%20Med%20Res.mp4?dl=0

I am very proud that my experiences and messages can contribute to the improvement of medicine in a few different areas. My work with Kidney Disease is closest to my heart but contributing to other organizations like the work of the Heart and Stroke Association or to the mission of complimentary areas like Physiotherapy or Cardiac Rehabilitation, means a lot to me too.

Please read about Dr. Trisha Parsons and her mission to improve the lives of people with chronic illnesses (especially Chronic Kidney Disease) through physiotherapy:

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 12.33.44 PM

Dr. Parson is the Chair of the Canadian Renal Rehabilitation Network (http://www.crrn.ca) . . . another cause very, very close to my heart.

Here is a link to the physiotherapy blog, called “ShoPTalk”, (http://shoptalk.physiotherapy.ca).

This entry was posted in Amazing People, Message, Progress, The Bigger Picture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

