Home Dialysis Machine/System Transition : Part 1

NO WINNERS AND LOSERS WITH DIALYSIS – Just CHOICE . . .

I came home with my new dialysis machine on Mar 25th. Before that I was at the hospital for three weeks learning the new system and adjusting physically to NxStage.

This has been one of the most challenging transitions I’ve dealt with as far as my health is concerned. And it was extra difficult because I didn’t expect it to be challenging. (I was just being overly optimistic, really).

Those three weeks (at the hospital) deserve a blog post to themselves – and I will eventually tell that story – but for now I want to write about the transition within my home. From one system to another.

I will break the transition up into a few parts – a few blogs. 🙂

Anyway, I’m thinking about this experience – in switching companies – from a new perspective.

With NxStage and Baxter and Fresenius (three dialysis companies I’ve dealt with in my life with Chronic Kidney Disease), there are no winners and losers – just choice for the patients who need dialysis.

I want to be as unbiased about this as possible. My aim in sharing this experience is NOT to say one system is better than another.

My excitement about bringing another dialysis system home was fundamentally about medical progress for kidney disease patients. An appreciation of the research and care that is going into improving the lives of people on dialysis like me. And the improvement of my own life in practical terms specific to me and my choices.

For me it was about improving my day-to-day experience . . . as I am choosing to live my day-to-day.

I think the biggest lesson in this transition, for me, is the lesson about CHOICE.

I am using the NxStage system now. I believe it is the right CHOICE for me at this point in my life.

I am very thankful for the Fresenius Home K that I had before.

Here are some photos of my Home K being wheeled out.

IMG_1823 IMG_1826

When I’ve imagined my Home K being wheeled out of my apartment (in the past) I envisioned a party and physically kicking it out the door.

I don’t feel like that anymore. I think there should be a lot of RESPECT given to a machine that sustained me for a long time.

Smith-Karen Nicole 3-sep19-13-ml IMG_0552

Feeling thankful to be alive and well.

Feeling thankful that I am living with a disease that has effective treatments and good choices for its patients.

This entry was posted in Message, Progress, The Bigger Picture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home Dialysis Machine/System Transition : Part 1

  1. Jennifer says:

    Happy for you – looking forward to seeing how the NxStage compares in size to your former machine.

Leave a Reply

