Home Dialysis Machine/System Transition: Part 3

NxStage ARRIVES!!

A few days before I did my first dialysis treatment at home, my machine arrived. March 23rd.

IMG_1849

NxStage machine in . . .

This was something I had been dreaming about for a long time. (I have known about and wanted to try NxStage for years – since 2011, at least.)

It’s been over a month since I’ve had NxStage and it’s still wonderful and novel, to me, to see my machine in my dialysis room.

Again, sharing this journey, as I transition from one dialysis company to another, is about choice. I believe this machine is the right choice for me – at the present time. I don’t believe one system is better or worse. I believe this system is what is better for ME at this time.

I am so thankful to have choice.

As a patient, dealing with a full-time chronic illness, choice means I can have some control in my health. Control helps in a situation that ultimately feels out of control.

With respect to doctors, nurses and medical executives, I am an expert on my life with this disease. Choice means I can live my life the best way possible under the circumstances. Choice means better quality-of-life – looking at the factors that mean the most to me.

I believe I know best what will make the challenges of this disease worth living with.

I can’t do this alone. I am thankful for the doctors, nurses and medical executives who I collaborate with to decide on my care and what’s best for me. Together we make an amazing team.

IMG_1851

NxStage in dialysis room.

This entry was posted in Message, Musings, Progress, The Bigger Picture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

